December 17, 2012 – City Council Meeting Minutes


The Regular Meeting of the City Council of the City of Olivia, Minnesota, was called to order by Mayor Hilgert at 7:00 p.m. Members present: Councilors Al Houdek, Terry Kohout, Barb Kirtz; Mayor Suzanne M. Hilgert. Councilor Stacie Haney was absent. Staff present: Dan Coughlin, city Administrator; and Mary Jo Halliday, Deputy Clerk. Others present: Aaron Walton, City Attorney; Bernard Johnson, Councilor-elect; Richard Fursman, and Shelly Lindrud, Staff Writer, for the Renville County Register.


Motion by Kohout, second by Houdek: to approve the Agenda as amended. Motion passed unanimously.


Motion by Kirtz, second by Haney: to approve the following Consent Agenda items:

A. Regular Meeting Minutes of December 3, 2012

B. Update to Resolution 2012-58

C. Approve 2013 Liquor Licenses, Resolution 2012-60

D. Approve Airport Land Lease Amendment, Resolution 2012-63

E. Approve Contract with SAPA to Furnish Firm Electric Service to Olivia, Resolution 2012-64

F. December Payables

G. November Check Summary

H. Approve Resolution 2012-65, Acknowledging the Chamber of Commerce has Designated Max’s Grill As Their New Gambling Location

Motion passed unanimously.


Richard Fursman – Police Chief Position Update

Richard Fursman provided the Mayor, Council, Councilor-Elect, the City Attorney, and the Administrator a list of ten qualified semi-finalists for the police chief position. He explained there were a total of 37 applicants. Mr. Fursman facilitated a candidate screening discussion which related to public safety competencies, education, human resource experience, leadership, team building, skill, and how they will fit into our community. The Council agreed on five police chief finalists and one alternate to be interviewed on Monday, January 7, 2013, with alternate date of Wednesday, January 9, 2012.

Motion by Kohout, second by Kirtz: to offer the final candidates up to $250 for mileage and one nights lodging at the Sheep Shedde Inn. Motion passed unanimously.

2013 Budget

Dan Coughlin presented the final levy amount and the final budget changes.

Motion by Haney, second by Houdek: to adopt the 2013 Property Tax Levy, Resolution 2012-61, and to adopt the General, Debt Service and Enterprise Fund Budgets, Resolution 2012-62, as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Electric Undergrounding and Meter Location Policy

Motion by Houdek, second by Kohout: to approve electric undergrounding and the Meter Location Policy to include two hundred amp wire being provided by the City as recommended by the Public Utilities Commission on February 8, 2012. Motion passed unanimously.

Airport T-Hangar Update

Eighteen months ago a severe storm damaged our Airport T-Hangar and since then City Staff has been trying to work through all the details involving the insurance settlement and options for repair/replacement. The Administrator asked the League of Minnesota Cities Insurance Trust (LMCIT) for funds to replace instead of repair the structure but the request was denied. It was noted the LMCIT has agreed to replace approximately 80 per cent of the cost of the new structure.

City Council previously hired Shingabee as Construction Managers and authorized them to seek bids to replace the structure. The bids came in below the engineer’s estimate. It was noted Duininck Bros. was the lowest responsible bidder in the amount of $________.

Motion by Kohout, second by Kirtz: to approve the bid to contingent upon whether David Drown feels that additional Tax Increment Financing dollars could be used. Motion passed unanimously.


No one was in attendance.


Park & Recreation Board

Mayor Hilgert and Dan Coughlin gave a brief update of the Park & Rec Board meeting held on December 6, 2012. Discussion included Early Childhood initiatives has agreed to allocate $2,000 to upgrade the playground equipment and they are volunteering to partner with the City on future projects.

Public Works Worker Hiring Committee

Dan Coughlin informed the Council that 24 applications have been received for the Public Works Worker position. The hiring committee will consist of Barb Kirtz, Bernard Johnson, Dan Coughlin, and Kim Harrier, Public Works Supervisor.


Motion by Kirtz, second by Houdek: to adjourn the meeting at 9:45 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.